top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMorrigan Raine

First time filming a music video!

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

The first day of filming my first music video "Saviour" with Dmytro Sytin from See Infinity - Cinematic Video Production.

​

I woke up at 3:30am and drove for what felt like forever, in order to get to the location before sunrise. When I arrived, we didn't have a solid plan, only a rough idea of what we wanted to achieve. But we knew that right next to us there was a beautiful place in the woods with a creek and we wanted to take advantage of the sunrise.

​

After finishing our cup of coffee we headed out to the woods. It was cold and wet, but the sun rays started coming in through the trees and it was truly magical.

​

Since this was my first time in front of a camera, I felt extremely self conscious and embarrassed. It took a while for me to come out of my shell! The longer we filmed, the more we kept going deeper into the woods, until we saw the perfect place in the creek.

​

We decided to go down into the water and film some scenes there. The water was FREEZING!!! But I was determined to get some good footage no matter what. We both went into the water and right when we couldn't feel our feet anymore, I got carried away by the music and practically threw my entire self into the water!

​

Dmytro was encouraging me to feel the music, and that's exactly what ended up happening. By that point I couldn't feel most of my body but we got the perfect shots.

After we finished with the river, we headed back for a hot shower, some tea and on to the next location.


We found a beautiful lake but had to wait until sunset for that perfect atmosphere. In the meantime we went back home and filmed some black and white scenes and some piano playing. I was out of my comfort zone again, it was only me with black background and nowhere to hide from my hideous acting skills (having to pretend to be all sexy and mysterious).


As soon as the sun started setting we drove back to the lake. The wind picked up and it was even more freezing than before. I was only wearing a summer dress and I was barefoot in the middle of winter. I had a blanket to wrap around myself, for which I was extremely thankful! The scene was supposed to be where I walk on the pier into the sunset.


I started walking, the strong wind blowing in my face, it was hard to breathe. I didn't know how long I could keep walking for, but Dmytro said "go all the way to the end". He knew what he was talking about, but by that point I couldn't feel my feet again and I was getting tired and ready to murder!


However, I kept walking and singing into the wind, the waves of the lake making big splashes on the pier, the whole surface felt like it was moving and I was very unstable!

Needless to say, I was very grateful when I was told that it's enough and now I can slowly start walking back.


The sun set completely by that point and we had one more location in mind, but since it was too dark, the footage didn't turn out great at all and we promised we'll be back there next time!


We started heading back and on the way we stopped on a busy road and filmed a time lapse video, which looked really cool and I didn't mind standing still for 20 minutes because I was finally dressed and warm!


It was such an amazing experience, from the first moment until I was home. Dmytro made me feel extremely comfortable with the camera and I got over that initial fear of being embarrassed and "what will they think when I do/say....."


It was a valuable lesson, and I couldn't wait to do it again!


Here's a snippet of what we filmed that day

Absolutely magical spot, like nature designed it with the purpose of filming something beautiful there
Absolutely magical spot, like it was designed specifically for filming/photography needs

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAVIOUR (Extended Mix) Official Video

It is finally here!!! Hi friends, Today is a very special day, as I finally get to share with you my first music video for my song SAVIOUR! It's been a long time coming, life got in the way but it's f

bottom of page